Last year art.earth was delighted to host Common Salt during its inaugural tour. Sheila and Sue have now announced a UK tour – your chance to see this wonderful piece of intimate theatre.

 

Common Salt

Sheila Ghelani and Sue Palmer

Common Salt is a performance around a table – a ‘show and tell’.

It explores the colonial, geographical history of England and India taking an expansive and emotional time-travel, from the first Enclosure Act and the start of the East India Company in the 1600s, to 21st century narratives of trade, race and culture.

Sue and Sheila activate insights into our shared past, laying out a ‘home museum’ of objects and stories; of the Great Hedge of India, of borders, and collections – all accompanied by original Shruti box laments.

“Common Salt … was exquisite … A miniature with epic undertones.”
Audience on Twitter

Common Salt is a reckoning; the interconnectedness between history and global power, artefact and trade, race and memory is hidden in plain sight.

“Common Salt was incredible – Sheila Ghelani and Sue Palmer create a completely hypnotic space. Honestly unlike anything I’ve seen before.”
Audience on Twitter

“… like reading a book in 3D real life.  Both my friend and I were gripped throughout and couldn’t stop talking about all the ideas it sparked.”
Audience email to Bristol Central Library

Common Salt national tour in 2019:

Kings College London, (part of Theatre Capital programme) | Thursday 17 October | 11.00am (with post show discussion)

Wells Library, Somerset | Saturday 19th October | 11.00am & 2.00pm | Buy tickets online

Cambridge Junction, Cambridge | Monday 21st October | 5:30pm & 8.00pm | Buy tickets

Frome Library, Somerset | Saturday 9th November | 11.30am & 2.30pm | Buy tickets online

Lancaster Arts / Lancaster Maritime Museum | Saturday 16 November | 3.00pm & 7.00pm

Yeovil Library, Somerset | Saturday 30th November | 11.30am & 2.30pm | Buy tickets online

Queen’s House, Royal Museums Greenwich | Friday 6th December| 11.30am & 2.30pm | Details to follow

Common Salt national tour in 2020:

Museum of Rural Life in Reading (January), OSR Projects Somerset (February), Manchester City Library (Friday 7th February), Leicester Attenborough Arts Centre (Friday 6th March), Museum of London Docklands (Wednesday 18th March),  Holburne Museum in Bath (Friday 27th March), Folkestone Fringe / Urban Room (April), Live Art Development Agency London (Thursday 23rd April) and The British Library in London (Monday 18th May).

 

 

Share