from Stimulus Respond:

We are soliciting contributions for the next edition of Stimulus Respond, called Stimulus. Contributions might be literally or abstractly related to Stimulus, and we encourage, as always, creative and experimental approaches to the theme. In congruence with Stimulus Respond’s undisciplined approach, we welcome submissions from new and established contributors from within, between, and beyond such fields as cultural studies, anthropology, literary criticism, fashion, creative writing, politics, visual cultures, architecture, theatre, film and screen studies, sociology, media and communications and philosophy.

Abstracts (200 words), low resolution images and expressions of interest should be sent to the relevant editor(s) by 10 December 2019. Successful contributors will be notified shortly afterwards, and then be asked to submit their final piece by 6 March 2020.

Please note our new sections:

Writing
We want originally gathered words with ‘Stimulus’ as a prompt, not as a theme. Poetry and prose. Rescue the word from its dictionary meanings. Be as pedantic or as playful as you want. Genre-ed or genre-fluid. Word count up to 6000.
Contact: Sourav Roy sourav@stimulusrespond.com

Female Gaze
This section is feminist art practices, featuring work connected to feminist legacies, provoking and interrogating dominant patriarchal structures, proposing other realities and fitting within an ethics of feminist principles.
Contacts: Liz Stirling liz@stimulusrespond.com, Jo Hamill jo@stimulusrespond.com, Casey Orr casey@stimulusrespond.com, Laura Robinson laura@stimulusrespond.com

Images
Often in collaboration with other sections, ‘Images’ covers the visual from pencil to camera. We also invite visual contributions for the ‘blank page’: self-contained, single-page A4 compositions that address the theme of ‘Stimulus’.
Contact: Jack Boulton jack@stimulusrespond.com

Art
The ‘Art’ section focus on creatives – rather than specifically musicians – who have evolved to employ sound centrally within their practice. We are particularly interested in interviews and articles exploring radio, popular music, installation, DIY publishing and streaming.
Contact: Alan Dunn alan@stimulusrespond.com

Human/Machine
In ‘Human/Machine’, the contributions to the other sections in each issue are re-processed by algorithms and a human.
Contct: Ian Truelove ian@stimulusrespond.com

Please note that we prioritise material that has not been published elsewhere and all forms of submission must be seen to address the theme of the issue.

Share